Public and Private Sector Finance with Janet Ecker

Date: Wednesday, August, 29th 2018
Time: 05:30pm to 08:00pm
Location: The Albany Club
91 King Street East, Toronto M5C 1G3
Price: Free for YCIF Members
Free for non-Members
Keynote speaker: Janet Ecker
Maximum attendees: 100
Chapter: Toronto

Young Canadians in Finance (Toronto) is pleased to invite you for an evening with Janet Ecker, C.M., ICD.D.

Janet has extensive experience in private and public sector finance, having served as the CEO of the Toronto Financial Services Alliance (TFSA) from 2005-2017 and as Minister of Finance for the province of Ontario from 2002-2003. Janet has dedicated much of her career to advancing the depth and breadth of the financial services sector in Toronto, Ontario and Canada.

In her role as CEO of TFSA, Janet established the Global Risk Institute in Financial Services to leverage the sector’s global reputation for stability. Under her leadership, TFSA also established the Centre of Excellence in Financial Services Education to capitalize on the region’s talent advantages. The Centre was recognized by the World Economic Forum as a best practice in collaborative public-private partnerships. In 2014, TFSA also led Canada’s successful bid to become the North American trading hub for the Chinese currency, the Renminbi.

Previous to her time at TFSA, Janet served as Minister of Finance and was the first woman to deliver a provincial budget in Ontario. Prior to this, Janet served as Minister of Education (1999-2002), Government House Leader (2001-2002) and Minister of Community and Social Services (1996-1999).

Janet currently serves on many private and public sector boards, including Metrolinx, Postmedia Network Inc and Toronto Global. In 2016 she received the Order of Canada, in recognition of her contributions to the financial sector and in her political life. Janet is also one of the founders of Equal Voice, a national, multi-partisan organization working to elect more women.

This event is free for YCIF members and $15 for non-members.  Registration is required and space is limited.

See you there!
Jake Irwin/ Jeremy Abitbol/ Roz McLean/ Syed Saif